

## **NEWS ADVISORY**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Friday, March 17, 2017

**CONTACT**: Karen Hamilton, (207) 767-0116, ext. 4 E-mail: <u>khamilton@mccs.me.edu</u>

## Maine Community Colleges to Honor Scholars

AUGUSTA, ME – Fourteen Maine community college students will be named to the All-Maine Academic Team for two-year colleges at a ceremony on **Wednesday, March 22, 2017,** at 11 a.m., at the Senator Inn in Augusta. The event will be hosted by the Maine Community College System Board of Trustees. The students receiving the award, which includes a \$500 scholarship, are:

- Misty Edgecomb, Auburn, Central Maine Community College in Auburn
- **Melissa Potter, Lewiston**, Central Maine Community College;
- Crystal Favati, Hampden, Eastern Maine Community College in Bangor;
- Danielle Thompson, Hudson, Eastern Maine Community College;
- Carroll Chapman, Embden, Kennebec Valley Community College in Fairfield/Hinckley;
- Meredith Cohen, Hallowell, Kennebec Valley Community College;
- David Craw, Washburn, Northern Maine Community College in Presque Isle;
- Jenny Morneault, Fort Kent, Northern Maine Community College;
- Bronson Kieltyka, Monmouth, Southern Maine Community College in South Portland/Brunswick;
- Ayoob Mahdi, Portland, Southern Maine Community College;
- Rachael Cox, Eastport, Washington County Community College in Calais;
- Leigh-Ann Hanson, Calais, Washington County Community College;
- Bryanna Smith, Sanford, York County Community College in Wells; and
- Spencer Wilkinson, Acton, York County Community College.

YCCC's Bryanna Smith will also be honored as the Maine Coca-Cola New Century Scholar in recognition of having achieved the highest All-USA Academic Team application score in the state. Smith will represent Maine at the American Association of Community Colleges' annual convention in April, where she will receive a \$2,000 scholarship.

The All-Maine Academic Team is a program of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges. Students are nominated and selected for the team by their college based on outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service. The All-Maine Academic Team is co-sponsored by Northeast Trophy, Phi Theta Kappa, and the MCCS.

(If special accommodations are needed to attend this event, please contact Bonnie Brown at 629-4017.)